You are currently viewing DURAND CUP 2022 KNOCKOUT STAGES


Durand Cup 2022



Durand Cup 2022 : The Road to Knockout Stages

The domestic season of Indian football will begin with the Durand Cup. At Salt Lake Stadium, Asia’s oldest soccer club competition began on August 16, with Mohammedan SC defeating FC Goa 3-1 in the opening match. The title was won by Goa last year when they defeated Mohammedan in the final. Mohun Bagan and East Bengal are the two most successful teams in the Durand Cup’s history, which began in 1888. Both teams have shared in 16 Durand Cup victories. The Durand Cup, Asia’s oldest-running football tournament, will play its 131st season in 2022, making it the first-ever to get recognition from the Asian Football Confederation. Due to its financial ties to Indian Oil Corporation, it is known as the Indian Oil Corporation of India Durand Cup. This year, the competition will be hosted in several new locales. The organization in charge of holding the competition is the Durand Football Tournament Society, and the Eastern Command of the Indian Armed Forces, as well as the governments of Assam and Manipur, support it. Each club in the top Indian Super League was required to participate in the competition for the first time this year, along with five more carefully picked teams from the I-League and four military teams. The Vivekananda Yuba Bharati Krirangan in Kolkata, West Bengal, hosted the quarterfinals on September 23 and the championship game on October 3, respectively, for the 2021 Durand Cup’s elimination round. Eight teams participated in the elimination round. 

A maximum of Twenty clubs are playing, divided into four categories of 5 squads each. To qualify for the quarterfinals, every group’s highest ranked 2 squads have to win.

Who is Playing against Whom?

There are five groups divided into Durand Cup Tournament 2022

Group A includes Mohammedan SC, Jamshedpur FC, FC Goa, Indian Air Force FT and Bengaluru FC.

Group B includes ATK Mohun Bagan, Rajasthan United FC, SC East Bengal, Indian Navy FT and Mumbai City FC.

Group C includes TRAU FC, Chennaiyin FC, NEROCA FC, Hyderabad FC, and Army Red FT.

Group D includes North East United FC, Sudeva Delhi FC, Kerala Blasters FC, Army Green FT, and Odisha FC. 


Matches Schedule 

Group-wise match schedules from August 16, 2022, from 7:00 PM in IST on different channels Sports 1 HD, and Sports 1. The beginning matches are played between FC Goa VS Mohammedan FC, and the last match is between Chennaiya FC VS Hydrabad FC. 


Newly Appointed Secretary general of AIFF

President of Delhi Football association Shaji Prabhakaran is appointed as the new secretary general of AIFF (All India Football Federation). Up to the day, he returned to the administrator place and served in another capacity in the previous days.

The selection was carried out by lines of expectations by the executive committee of the newly assigned Secretary of the All India Football Federation. Along with Shaji Prabhakaran, Kalyan Chaubey was the president and a retired Indian football player. 

Durand Cup 2022 Matches Updates: Army Red vs Hydrabad FC

Army Red is trying its best to conquer its position and is looking forward to entering the Knockout stages. Champions of Indian Super League Hyderabad FC are looking to win the game and enter into the Knockout stages with great confidence.

The match is going to have an interesting clash between both teams. It will be fun to see how Group D plans to clash in the upcoming games.

Leave a Reply